More IE thoughts

March 31, 2008 at 1:31 am Leave a comment

IE works.  It really does.  For all the people out there jumping on yet another diet band wagon, have you REALLY thought about giving this a go?  Believe me, it REALLY works.  I believe it can work for anyone, if you give it an honest try.

I’m not really talking about trying it as a weight loss alternative or method.. because it really is about so much more than that.

For months now, I have really been off cheese, yoghurt and milk.. even soy milk eventually got to me.  I was perplexed, but I listened and carried on.  Whenever I had milk, I ended up with sore guts, and ended up feeling really odd.  So I decided to go with this, and trust what my body was telling me.

When I found out I was pregnant I asked my Dr for some calcium supplements as I was a bit worried about the effect on a baby.  But you know what?  I obviously need calcium as my body has been asking for cheese, yoghurt and milk!  (Before I had a chance to fill the prescription!) Do you know how weird it feels??  But it’s such a strong signal, and I need to honour it, to maintain that body trust.  (Even if the smell of milk makes me gag & retch.. LOL)

Anyway, by this stage in my other two pregnancies I had already gained a good 6 (or more) kilos.  With my second pregnancy I was already, ALREADY (8 weeks) firmly in maternity clothes!  This time around, my clothes still fit and some of them even fit better.  I LOVE IE!  And don’t get me wrong.. I am not following someone else’s version of what I SHOULD be eating.  I’m still fully going with my instincts.  Some days that means a yoghurt and an orange for dinner, and sometimes that means I want to eat a whole curry restaurant.  Stopping when I am full feels better than ever, and I’m so glad I’ve learnt to do that, because it can get really uncomfortable when your belly is already getting crowded out by a growing uterus and squashed organs.

It is completely second nature now for me to look in the mirror, naked, and I don’t see the ‘Oh my god, I’m so fat’ girl anymore.  I see the ‘I’m so curvy and Ifeel good’ woman.  What a change!  I’m not blind, I still see the wobbly bits, the rolls, the cellulite and the stretch marks.. but the difference is they are just a part of me now, and I love those parts as much as the rest.  When I look in the mirror, it’s not time to criticise, it’s time to celebrate my curves.

I’ve also noticed I am gaining confidence in being around strangers, and I feel incredibly sad when I am around people with the full dieting mindset.  I didn’t realise how BORING it was to listen to people banging on about how many points they’ve eaten this day or that day, or how the scales were up or down a few measly hundred grams this day or that. Life is SO much more than this.  I can’t believe that was my main focus for so many years.  *yawn*

I still have some anxiety around being hungry, especially at the moment when hungry = major nausea.  Because I can go from being completely not hungry, with no hunger signals to ravenous in the space of 5-10 minutes! Pregnancy hunger is fierce, like a tiger. I’ve taken to carrying around a protein bar in my pocket if we are going to be away from anywhere that has food (like a bush walk), and I just have a bite when I need it, and that usually keeps my hunger at bay until we stop for a proper snack.

Oh, I’ve also noticed that some of my old eating signals have changed.. instead of thinking ‘I feel like something to munch’ when I’m bored or need to relax, quite often now it comes as ‘I feel like going into the garden’ or something similar. How can that not be more positive?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

IE update Eating disorders

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


