Thoughts for today

March 31, 2008 at 1:22 am Leave a comment

I remember when I had my first day at my support group, and there were about 20 girls in the room, and I was the only one whose problem was not undereating.  Can you imagine how it was to be the largest in the room by probably AT LEAST 30kgs?  I was really uncomfortable, and more than a little confused.  These girls were slim / skinny, they wore fantastic clothes, had interesting jobs, and no kids (aka all the freedom in the world, lol), but yet, they were as unhappy as me in their own skin.  Actually, that’s not true.. I think I was the one who was the most accepting of my size. Or maybe I had the most ‘realistic’ view of my body.
Something I have been trying to do lately is to pick something about myself that I like that day, and accentuating it, or reminding myself of it throughout the day.  It’s easy to look in the mirror and judge and find the worst bits, but now I look and find what I like the most.  E.g. the other day, I said to my husband ‘I really like how my waist goes in and out like that’ and he gave me a big grin and said ‘I love that too’, hehe, now that was a nice self-esteem boost.

Anyway the point of my post is to just jot down my thoughts, and also to encourage people to find something about themselves to feel good about, even if, especially if you don’t have a ‘perfect’ figure -it’s really important.  The more you start to accept, the easier it gets – and eventually when you look in the mirror you don’t automatically look away in horror.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Now this is what IE is about! IE update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


